You are here
Home > Sitting Poses


Upavistakonasana (oo-pah-VEESH-tah cone-AHS-anna) upavistha = seated, sitting kona = angle Step by Step:- Sit in Dandasana, then lean your torso back slightly on your hands and lift and open your legs to an angle of about 90 degrees (the legs should form an approximate right angle, with the pubis at the apex). Press

Paschimottanasana (पश्चिमोत्तानासन)

Paschimottanasana (pash-ee-moh-tan-ahs-anna; Sanskrit: पश्चिमोत्तानासन; IAST: paścimottānāsana), Seated Forward Bend or Intense Dorsal Stretch is an asana. Together with Padmasana (lotus), Siddhasana (half-lotus) and Vajrasana (lightning-bolt pose), this asana is an accomplished asana according to the Shiva Samhita. It was advocated by 11th century yogi Gorakshanath. The name comes from the Sanskrit words

Pasasana (पाशासन)

Pasasana (Sanskrit: पाशासन; IAST: pāśāsana) or Noose Pose is an asana. The name comes from the Sanskrit words pasa (or pasha) (पाश, pāśa) meaning "noose" or "snare" and asana (आसन) meaning "posture" or "seat". In this yoga asana, the human body creates a 'noose' when the practitioner wraps their arms around their

Ardha Matsyendrasana (अर्धमत्स्येन्द्रासन)

Ardha Matsyendrasana (Sanskrit: अर्धमत्स्येन्द्रासन; IAST: Ardha Matsyendrāsana), Half Lord of the Fishes Pose, Half Spinal Twist Pose or Vakrasana is an asana. The asana usually appears as a seated spinal twist with many variations, and is one of the twelve basic asanas in many systems of Hatha Yoga. The asana is named

Gomukhasana (गोमुखासन)

Gomukhasana (goh-moo-kha-sah-nah; Sanskrit: गोमुखासन; IAST: Gomukhāsana) or Cow Face Pose is an asana. The name comes from the Sanskrit words Go (गो, Go) meaning "cow", Mukha (मुख, mukha) meaning "head" or "mouth", and Asana (आसन, Āsana) meaning "posture" or "seat". The word Go also means "light", so gomukh may refer to the light

Hanumanasana (हनुमानासन)

Hanumanasana (Sanskrit: हनुमानासन) or Monkey Pose is an asana. The name comes from the Sanskrit words Hanuman (a divine entity in Hinduism who resembles a monkey) and asana (posture) and commemorates the giant leap made by Hanuman to reach the Lankan islands from the mainland of India. This asana is of utmost spiritual

Bharadvajasana (भरद्वाजासन)

Bharadvajasana (IPA: [bʱɐrɐd̪ʋɑːɟɑːsɐnɐ]; Sanskrit: भरद्वाजासन; IAST: Bharadvājāsana) is an āsana. The asana dedicated to sage Bharadvāja who was one of the Saptarshis (Seven Great Sages Rishi) in the present Manvantara; the others being being Atri, Vashishtha, Vishvamitra, Gautama, Jamadagni and Kashyapa. Bharadvāja was also the father of Drona who was a master

Janusirsasana (जानु शीर्षासन)

Janu Sirsasana (jah-noo shur-shah-sah-nah; Sanskrit: जानु शीर्षासन; IAST: jānu śīrṣāsana), Head-to-Knee Pose, Head-to-Knee Forward Bend, Head of the Knee Pose or Head-on-Knee Pose is an asana. It is part of the Ashtanga Yoga Primary Series and is commonly practiced as a seated asana in many styles of yoga. The name comes from the

Baddha Konasana (बद्धकोणासन)

Baddha Konasana (bah-dah koh-nah-sah-nah; Sanskrit: बद्धकोणासन ; IAST: baddhakoṇāsana), Bound Angle Pose or Cobbler Pose (after the typical sitting position of Indian cobblers when they work) is an asana. The name comes from the Sanskrit words baddha (बद्ध, baddha) meaning "bound", kona (कोण, koṇa) meaning "angle" or "split" and Asana (आसन,